10 best MCP servers for SEO and backlink data in 2026

By John Smalls, Founder · Published 2026-10-15 · Updated 2026-10-15

The best MCP server for SEO depends on whether you already pay for an SEO suite. If you do, use your suite's own server: Ahrefs, Semrush and SE Ranking all host one, and it returns full backlink data. If you don't, DataForSEO's pay-as-you-go server and BacklinkMCP's free remote server are the two ways to give an agent backlink data with no subscription. Keyword.com's server is strong for rank tracking but doesn't return backlinks.

TL;DR
· Already on Ahrefs Lite ($129/mo) or higher: the Ahrefs MCP is included, hosted, and has the deepest link data.
· Already on Semrush: "MCP access" is listed from the Starter plan ($199/mo, or $165.17/mo billed yearly).
· No subscription, pay per call: the DataForSEO MCP ($50 minimum top-up; backlinks cost $0.024 per task plus $0.000036 per row).
· No signup at all: BacklinkMCP, 10 free lookups a day. It returns domain-level data only: no per-link URL, anchor or rel.
· Local-only options (Serpstat official, Majestic community) need an API subscription and a Node install.

What an SEO MCP server actually does

An MCP (Model Context Protocol) server exposes SEO data as tools an AI client can call by itself. Add the server URL to Claude Desktop, Claude Code, Cursor or another MCP client, and the model can decide mid-conversation to pull a domain's referring domains, check its authority, or list its top pages. You don't write any integration code. The data is the same data the vendor's REST API returns. MCP changes who makes the call, not what comes back. We cover that split in MCP vs REST API for SEO data.

Three things decide whether a server is useful for backlink work. Can it reach backlink data at all? Is it hosted (paste a URL) or local (install Node and keep a process running)? And what does the cheapest working setup cost? Those are the three columns that matter below.

How we evaluated

On 2026-10-15 we read each vendor's own MCP documentation and pricing page. A price or limit in the table comes from the vendor's page unless it is marked otherwise. Some figures appear only in other comparison posts (several of which are written by competing vendors). We left those out, or name where the figure came from. "Not stated" means we read the vendor's page and it doesn't say.

We also asked AI search engines which servers they recommend. We ran five buyer questions through Perplexity Sonar and Gemini with web search, three times each, for 30 answers in total, and logged every URL they cited. The pages they cite most are vendor-written comparison posts and vendor docs pages, which is why this page follows the same structure: one table, vendor-sourced numbers, dates on everything.

Disclosure: we build BacklinkMCP, one of the servers below. Where another server is the better choice we say so, including in the "where others win" notes.

Quick comparison

ServerHostingAuthBacklink dataCheapest entryFree option
Ahrefs MCPRemoteOAuth or MCP keyYes, full Site ExplorerLite, $129/moNo free MCP
Semrush MCPRemoteOAuth or API keyYes: backlinks, referring domains, anchorsStarter, $199/moNot stated
DataForSEO MCPRemote or localLogin:password or OAuthYes, through its generic api_request tool$50 top-up, pay per call$1 trial credit
SE Ranking MCPRemoteOAuth 2.1 or API keyYes (not every endpoint)Core $129/mo; vendor pricing copy is mixedTrial, no card
BacklinkMCPRemoteNone (free), API key (Pro)Domain-level: ranked referring domains + authorityFree; Pro $19/mo on request10 lookups/day, no signup
Moz MCP (beta)Not statedMoz API subscriptionYes: Moz link index, DA, PA, Spam ScoreAPI Starter, $20/moAPI free plan; MCP on it not shown
Serpstat MCPLocal (Node)API tokenYes: 11 of 65 toolsNot stated on vendor pages we could readNot stated
RankParse MCPRemoteNot stated (API key signup)Yes, own indexFrom $0.01/lookup100 free credits
Majestic MCP (community)Local (Node)Majestic API keyYes: 9 toolsMajestic API subscriptionNo
Keyword.com MCPRemoteOAuthNo (rank tracking, AI visibility)Plans from $3/mo14-day trial

Prices are monthly list prices from vendor pages read on 2026-10-15. MCP endpoints for each server are listed under the server below.

The 10 SEO MCP servers, reviewed

1. Ahrefs MCP: deepest data if you already pay for Ahrefs

Ahrefs hosts its server at https://api.ahrefs.com/mcp/mcp (streamable HTTP). Connecting runs an OAuth consent screen that creates a dedicated MCP key, by default with 200,000 API units a month. You can also generate a key by hand. Ahrefs' pricing page lists "API and MCP access" on Lite ($129/mo), Standard ($249) and Advanced ($449). Each call spends API units from your monthly allowance. Rows per request are capped by plan: 100 on Lite, 250 on Standard, 500 on Advanced.

Best for: teams already on an Ahrefs plan who want their agent to read the same backlinks, referring domains and Domain Rating they see in the dashboard. Watch for: unit spend. A chatty agent burns units quickly, and the free plan has no MCP. Our Ahrefs MCP alternative page compares it with a free remote server in more detail.

2. Semrush MCP: backlinks, referring domains and anchors on Semrush plans

Semrush's server lives at https://mcp.semrush.com/v2/mcp (streamable HTTP only). It uses OAuth by default, with an API key in the Authorization header for clients that can't do OAuth. Its docs say SEO data needs a Starter, Pro+, Classic Pro or Guru plan. Some higher tiers need a separate API units package. The pricing page lists "MCP access" from Starter, $199/mo ($165.17/mo billed yearly). Backlink data covers backlinks, referring domains and anchors, scored with Semrush's Authority Score.

Best for: Semrush customers. Watch for: plan names in the MCP docs don't fully match the pricing page, so check which tier you're on before you assume access.

3. DataForSEO MCP: pay per call, no subscription

DataForSEO runs a hosted server at https://mcp.dataforseo.com/v3/mcp. You can also run it locally with npx dataforseo-mcp-server or Docker. Remote auth is your DataForSEO login and password in a Base64 header (some clients support OAuth). Its current GitHub README lists four generic tools: docs_index, docs_list_sections, docs_search and api_request. Backlink data is reached by having the agent call api_request against the /v3/backlinks/* endpoints. Backlinks cost $0.024 per task plus $0.000036 per row, from a $50 minimum top-up that doesn't expire, and there's a $1 trial credit.

Best for: developers who want Ahrefs-class coverage without a monthly plan. DataForSEO says its index holds roughly 2 trillion live backlinks. Watch for: the generic-tool design means the agent has to find the right endpoint through the docs tools first, which costs extra tool calls. SE Ranking's comparison post says the Backlinks API carries a separate $100 monthly minimum. We couldn't find that on DataForSEO's own pages.

4. SE Ranking MCP: hosted, broad, mixed pricing signals

SE Ranking hosts its server at https://api.seranking.com/mcp, with OAuth 2.1 (dynamic client registration) or an X-Api-Key header. Backlink data is available, though the docs note that "not every API endpoint is available through MCP." The pricing is hard to pin down. The API page says API and MCP are included in every plan. The same page also lists a stand-alone API from $50 per 250K credits and an API add-on from $149/mo. Core is $129/mo. There's a free trial with no card.

Best for: SE Ranking customers and teams comparing suites. Watch for: confirm what your plan's API dashboard actually enables before you build on it.

5. BacklinkMCP: free remote server, domain-level backlink data

BacklinkMCP (ours) is a remote server at https://backlinkmcp.com/api/mcp. You don't need an account to start. Free use is 10 lookups a day per IP, with up to 25 rows on backlinks_for_domain. Pro is $19/mo for unlimited daily lookups and up to 100 rows. Self-serve checkout isn't live, so Pro keys are issued on request by email. It exposes 13 tools, including domain_authority_score, backlinks_for_domain, common_linkers, find_link_prospects, flag_toxic_links (a review queue, never a disavow list) and verify_link_live. Install steps are on the MCP server for SEO page.

Best for: trying backlink data in an agent today with no signup, and agents that need ranked referring domains and an authority score rather than raw link rows. Where others win: our index is domain-level. It returns the referring domain, that domain's authority and its outbound link count. It does not return per-link source URLs, anchor text or rel/dofollow state. If you need those, use Ahrefs, Semrush, DataForSEO or Majestic.

6. Moz MCP (beta): Moz metrics for API subscribers

Moz's API page announces an MCP server, and its pricing page shows "MCP Access: Beta Enabled" on paid Moz API tiers. It says access is in beta "for account owners with an eligible Moz Data API subscription." The pages we read don't publish the server URL, the transport or a tool list. The API itself starts at $20/mo for 3,000 rows. A free API plan gives 50 rows a month, at one request per 10 seconds. Data comes from the Moz link index, with Domain Authority, Page Authority and Spam Score.

Best for: teams whose reports already speak in Moz DA. Watch for: beta status, and MCP doesn't appear as enabled on the free plan.

7. Serpstat MCP: 65 tools, run locally

Serpstat's official server is a Node package you run locally, with your SERPSTAT_API_TOKEN as an environment variable. Its README lists 65 tools across nine categories. Eleven are backlink tools, including get_backlinks_summary, get_referring_domains, get_anchors, get_lost_backlinks and get_backlinks_intersection. The README names no price, and Serpstat's pricing page wouldn't load for us. Some comparison posts describe hosted HTTP and OAuth modes. The official README doesn't, so we went with the README.

Best for: Serpstat API users who are comfortable running a local process. Watch for: local servers don't work in web-only clients.

8. RankParse MCP: per-lookup pricing with backlinks included

RankParse offers a hosted connector at https://connect.rankparse.com/mcp. There's no subscription: lookups start at $0.01, credits don't expire, and new accounts get 100 free credits with no card. Backlinks come from its own Common Crawl-based index. RankParse claims 28B+ backlinks and 100M+ scored domains. Its homepage doesn't list the auth method, the tool count or the backlink fields.

Best for: low-volume, pay-as-you-go use. Watch for: check the response fields on a free credit before you depend on them.

9. Majestic MCP (community): Trust Flow data, unofficial

Majestic doesn't publish an official MCP server; its API page doesn't mention one. A community server, majestic-mcp (MIT, run locally with npx), wraps the Majestic API in nine tools. They include get_backlinks, get_anchor_text, get_ref_domains and get_new_lost_backlinks. It needs a MAJESTIC_API_KEY, and Majestic issues API keys only to Platinum or API subscribers. The API page lists no price.

Best for: existing Majestic API customers. Watch for: it's maintained by an individual, not Majestic.

10. Keyword.com MCP: rank tracking, not backlinks

Keyword.com hosts a server at https://app.keyword.com/mcp. It uses OAuth and offers "over 60" tools, included on every plan and in the 14-day free trial. It covers rank tracking and AI-search visibility. Its page doesn't mention backlink data. We include it because it often tops "best SEO MCP" lists, and you should know it won't answer backlink questions.

How much the web links to each vendor (our data)

As a first-hand check, we ran each vendor's own domain through our public authority endpoint on 2026-10-15. domain_rating is BacklinkMCP's editorial-weighted score, which is not Ahrefs DR or Moz DA. Referring domains and outbound links come from the same lookup.

Vendor domaindomain_ratingReferring domainsOutbound links
ahrefs.com69.7109,3003,378
semrush.com66.362,5244,755
moz.com64.949,16816,371
seranking.com53.77,6021,872
majestic.com52.05,7534,374
serpstat.com48.83,3544,274
dataforseo.com40.0782374

This measures how well linked each vendor's website is in our index. It says nothing about the quality of their data. DataForSEO sells mostly to developers through its API, so a low link count on its marketing site doesn't mean anything about its backlink index.

How to choose

If you'd rather call the data from a script than an agent, the same vendors are compared as plain APIs in Best backlink APIs for developers.

Sources

Vendor pages read on 2026-10-15 (plain text, not links):

FAQ

Does Ahrefs have an MCP server?

Yes. Ahrefs hosts one at api.ahrefs.com/mcp/mcp. Its pricing page lists API and MCP access from the Lite plan ($129/mo), and calls spend API units from your monthly allowance.

Is there a free MCP server for backlink data?

BacklinkMCP gives 10 free lookups a day with no signup, and returns domain-level referring domains and authority. DataForSEO gives a one-time $1 trial credit, and RankParse gives 100 free credits.

Remote or local MCP server: which should I use?

Remote servers are a URL you paste into the client, and they work in web and desktop clients. Local servers need Node and a running process, but keep the API key on your machine.

Can an MCP server return anchor text and dofollow status?

Only if the underlying index stores them. Ahrefs, Semrush, DataForSEO and Majestic expose anchors. BacklinkMCP is domain-level and does not return per-link URL, anchor or rel.

Which clients support these servers?

Any MCP client. Claude Desktop, Claude Code and Cursor are the common ones. Remote servers with OAuth also work in clients that only accept a URL.